
TALES OF AKARANA 

The Club Suit is not always short 

How many clubs do you need to hold in your hand before you get to be 

declarer in a club contract? We always seem to look elsewhere though the suit 

did get a little look -in this week. 

 A32 

 2  

 AQ4 

 Q96432 

You open 1 (no matter how few you might be showing!) and hear left-hand 

opponent bid 1 and partner a forcing 2. It’s going pretty badly for you so 

far! Everyone would surely agree that 3 from you (after a pass on your right) 

is the bid you now make..and partner is free to pass that.  

Yet, they do not. 3 is their next offering.  

West  North  East  South 

    1  1 

2  Pass  3  Pass 

3  Pass  ? 

We know that you would be free to pass a 3 bid from partner but a change of 

suit? A one - round force? Game force? That beginners’ book you last read 500 

years ago said a new suit at the 3 level is certainly forcing (except when it is 

not!). So, what now?  

I took the realistic view that we were heading for game and bid a 3 ask and 

partner closed the auction with 4. We lost too many tricks too quickly: 

Board 5 
North Deals 

N-S Vul 

♠ Q 7 6 

♥ Q 6 

♦ 8 7 6 5 3 

♣ J 8 5 
 

♠ 8 5 

♥ K J 10 9 4 3 

♦ K 9 2 

♣ A 7 
 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ A 3 2 

♥ 2 

♦ A Q 4 

♣ Q 9 6 4 3 2 
  



 

♠ K J 10 9 4 

♥ A 8 7 5 

♦ J 10 

♣ K 10 
 

West North East South 

  1 ♣ 1 ♠ 2 ♥ 

Pass 3 ♣ Pass 3 ♦ 

Pass 3 ♠ Pass 4 ♥ 

All pass       

There were two hearts, a spade and a club to lose. Partner was heading for 

game though I feel 3 need only be forcing to 3. A shame I did not follow my 

belief. 9 tricks in hearts..10 in clubs but who wants 130 in the Teams 

environment when you can score 140! Only one club contract this time.  

There were two on the next board  when the club suit was much longer: 

 K42 

 J 

 6 

 AQ987642 

Amazingly partner opened 1 of a black suit…1! On your right came 2 and it 

seemed that you really could mention your long suit at the 3 level. Partner bid 

a fairly unhelpful 3 and you made a slam try of 4 which elicited a 4 cue-

bid from partner. While you can add 3 points for a singleton, I am not quite 

sure of the wisdom of adding 6 for 2 singletons..especially with only 3 trumps!  

So, you do not overbid your hand and call 4 which ends the auction. Clubs is 

dummy once again! So much for the rule (my rule!) that one never puts down 

a good 8 card suit as a side suit in a trump contract. The exception to my rule! 

Board 7 
South Deals 

Both Vul 
  

♠ A Q J 6 5 

♥ A 6 2 

♦ 9 7 4 3 

♣ 3 
 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 4 2 

♥ J 

♦ 6 

♣ A Q 9 8 7 6 4 2 
  

The universal lead was a high heart. What to do? Playing Pairs, you might take 

the club finesse and on a blue-sky day (they all are at present), the clubs break 

2-2 with the king on-side and spades 3-2 and you make 13 tricks. (Of course, 



you could draw trumps and then take the club finesse…pretty low odds of 

success. Two questions, though: 

a. Do you want to make 13 tricks even at Pairs? The answer is surely no! Slam 

missed! Yet, ensuring your contract is made is good advice even at Pairs, 

certainly in Teams.  

b. Say the sky changes colour? What then? 

 

 Or in other words, down in 4! That fate befell several declarers.  

The fact is you can afford to lose three tricks and you should not worry about 

losing one, even two cheap ones early because a lot of the time, you can 

recover. The club finesse worked but the spade break was not so kind: 

Board 7 
South Deals 

Both Vul 

♠ 8 

♥ K Q 5 4 

♦ K J 10 8 5 2 

♣ K J 
 

♠ A Q J 6 5 

♥ A 6 2 

♦ 9 7 4 3 

♣ 3 
 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 4 2 

♥ J 

♦ 6 

♣ A Q 9 8 7 6 4 2 
  

 

♠ 10 9 7 3 

♥ 10 9 8 7 3 

♦ A Q 

♣ 10 5 
 

West North East South 

      Pass 

1 ♠ 2 ♦ 3 ♣ Pass 

3 ♠ Pass 4 ♦ Pass 

4 ♥ Pass 4 ♠ All pass 

A successful club finesse was followed by a second club discarding a diamond. 

Two heart ruffs in dummy were all that were needed to make 10 tricks this 

time as clubs were played from dummy with South ruffing and West over-

ruffing.  



It was even easier for the 2 declarers in clubs who simply took the club finesse 

to make 12 tricks though 5 does seem to be the percentage contract.  

The lead that does hold declarer to 10 tricks in 4, no matter what, is the club 

lead as declarer cannot finesse, draw trumps and enjoy the clubs. So, a good 

time for the “joking” J lead. Even if declarer gets the lead right by finessing 

(with a sly glance at North as the queen holds!), they must play carefully to get 

their 10 tricks.  

Three club contracts out of 16 so far. One more club suit to go.  This deal 

produced an interesting bid: 

North held: 

A852 

 A654 

 JT75 

 T 

and North saw this sequence: 

West  North  East  South 

  Pass  Pass  1 

21  x  4  4NT 

Pass  ? 

1 weak jump 

Two more questions: 

What does 4NT mean? 

What should you bid? 

The answer to the first question may not straightaway give you the answer to 

the second. While there may be an argument some days for Blackwood, it is 

hard to imagine many 1 level openers simply needing to know how many key-

cards/aces their partner had. A more practical answer is long clubs with a suit 

above clubs which in this case must be diamonds.  



So, what should you bid? If your partner has 10 cards in the minors (they must 

surely have 6 clubs to take this action), your aces will immediately take care of 

2 of their 3 major cards. Similarly, if we assume they have the A, as any 

decent partner should, can they be replied upon for two of the top three 

diamonds? Fortune favoured the brave this evening: 

Board 21 
North Deals 

N-S Vul 

♠ A 8 5 2 

♥ A 6 5 4 

♦ J 10 7 5 

♣ 10 
 

♠ Q J 9 7 

♥ Q J 10 9 2 

♦ 9 3 

♣ 5 2 
 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ K 4 3 

♥ K 8 7 3 

♦ A 8 6 

♣ J 4 3 
  

 

♠ 10 6 

♥ — 

♦ K Q 4 2 

♣ A K Q 9 8 7 6 
 

“Nice hand for a 14 count, partner” as 12 tricks rolled in in either minor suit. 

There were two pairs in slam, one in each minor with most of the rest in any of 

three making games including a somewhat unusual 9 trick 3NT.  

Three pairs played in a club contract with the power of the 4-4 fit only required 

had there been a bad club break. A 4-1 diamond break might have beaten the 

club slam as well as causing some problems in 6. 

Three club hands with 21 clubs and only declaring the contract 6 times out of 

18. Seems we do not care that much about long club suits when deciding on 

trumps! However, in the second and third hands, the suit was very useful even 

if it was not trumps.  

Richard Solomon 

 

 

 


