
TALES OF AKARANA 

All routes lead to…. 

A case, perhaps, of what might have been. Sometimes, unfortunately, our own system 

works against us!  

So, two questions for you.  

First question. We give you the score and you tell us the contract. No warm up 

question….straight in! The score is + 460 and only your opponents are vulnerable.  

Second question. What action do you take with the following hand? 

 K853  

 4     

 AKQ    

 AKQT2 
 

West  North   East   South 

1  Pass   1   x 
? 
 

My first reaction is that no wonder the opening bid of 2 is underused if we start this hand 

at the 1 level. However, one’s majors are not hugely strong so that unless partner produces 

4+ spades, then our only likely game is 3NT. However, I digress… 

There is one bid that you are not allowed to make…and that is probably the one which first 

comes to mind, “redouble” because you are playing support doubles and redoubles. Your 

heart support will be rather lacking in subsequent bidding. (Redouble would promise 3 card 

heart support.) 

So, what’s it to be?  

 
Board 12 
West Deals 

N-S Vul 

♠ 7 4 2 

♥ K J 7 6 3 

♦ J 4 2 

♣ J 7 
 

♠ K 8 5 3 

♥ 4 

♦ A K Q 

♣ 
A K Q 10 

2 
 

 

 

N 

W 
 

E 

S 
 

 

♠ A 9 

♥ 
Q 10 9 8 

5 

♦ 10 8 7 6 

♣ 9 4 
  

 

♠ Q J 10 6 

♥ A 2 

♦ 9 5 3 

♣ 8 6 5 3 
 

West North East South 

1 ♣ Pass 1 ♥ Dbl 

All pass       
 

 

I have to confess that bids like 2 (even though 
South promised 4 of them) or 3NT rather 
appealed to me though I was not at the table, yet 
alone had this problem.  
 
West, Jonathan Westoby, chose to pass! Well, 
this denied 3 card or more heart support and 
should therefore in any subsequent bidding 
allow doubles to be for blood. There was just one 
snag. There was no subsequent bidding. Both 
North and East elected to pass! Indeed, both 
North and East (Steve Boughey) held five card 
heart suits.  

What was unusual was the South hand! 

 

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2019/May&p=17&h=12&r=7


There was an unlikely hero on this hand…and that was poor North, Chris Stuckey. His 

partner’s double was psychic, ill-judged, crazy, stirring the pot…you choose whichever 

phrase you think best suits the action.  

 

Any bid from Chris (1 or 1NT are surely the only options) would have resulted in huge 

penalties. Were North to declare 1NTx, they should be 5 light (-1400) while 1 x on almost 

any lead but especially A should result in -1100. So, a fine pass, Chris. You might not have 

felt so but the end result was a triumph! 

South (who can now be named without fear of prosecution, Paul Carson-Wenmoth) led 

Q. Declarer, Steve Boughey, won in hand and played a diamond to dummy and a heart to 

the 8 and South’s ace. Back came J won in dummy to be followed by a spade ruff and then 

two more high diamonds.  

Two high clubs followed with North having now only hearts left. A third club saw North ruff 

with  6, overruffed with  9. Steve exited his remaining diamond with North holding  

KJ7 and Steve  Q10 as well as the diamond. He had to score one more trick…three 

overtricks.  

In case scoring is not your forte, that is 30x2 (1 doubled and making) + 50 for part-score 

and 50 more for the insult + 100 for each overtrick, a total of 460. Of course, you had 

known that when you answered question 1 above.  

At every other table, the contract, rather unsurprisingly, was 3NT and although a few 

declarers found ingenious lines to make fewer tricks, there were 11 on top for those who 

wanted them. Steve’s 460 barely looked out of place until you checked the contracts. 

One of the joys of bridge is that we all have different approaches. Paul’s take-out double 

may not have appealed to many but it sure made the game interesting. 

Richard Solomon 

 


