
Tales of Akarana 

Tales of Disruption 

 

Surely there should be a rule about the number of times you can disrupt the 

opponents’ bidding?! That’s what you would wish for if you were the side who 

had reached a sensible game contract. Not so if you were the disruptors! The 

problem on the following hand was who was disrupting who the most! 

Board 27 

South Deals 

None Vul 

♠ K J 10 5 4 

♥ K J 6 5 4 

♦ — 

♣ A K 6 
 

♠ 8 

♥ Q 10 7 

♦ A K Q J 8 

♣ 9 8 4 3 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ A 7 

♥ A 3 2 

♦ 10 9 7 6 5 3 2 

♣ 10 
  

 

♠ Q 9 6 3 2 

♥ 9 8 

♦ 4 

♣ Q J 7 5 2 
 

West North East South 

      Pass 

1 ♦ 2 ♦ 3 NT 4 ♠ 

Pass Pass 5 ♦ Pass 

Pass 5 ♠ Pass Pass 

6 ♦ Dbl All pass   

The above was the auction we had to the par spot of 6x. East’s 3NT looks an 

extremely cheeky bid though with North showing the majors (2), it would be 

a miracle if South could find the winning low club lead to beat this contract.  

This day, though, was one of disruption and not miracles! There was to be no 

bad lead as South competed to 4…and East to 5…and North to 5…and 

finally West (why should he not join in?) to 6.  

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2018/August&p=10&h=27&r=10


Everyone had done well as apart from the last contract, every contract could 

have been made. In 5, South will eventually have to guess the location of the 

missing heart honours which three of the four declarers in spades managed 

successfully. In two cases, it was damage minimisation mode as they had bid 

all the way to 6, while one table declared 5 and the last declarer was in the 

comfort of 4.  

The auction would have been different from the above had South opened 2, 

spades and a minor. 

West  North  East  South 

      2 

3  4  5  Pass 

Pass  5  ? 

Would East now bid 6 as a sacrifice or to make…or not bid it at all?  

However, at three of the other four tables, the “disruptors” were busy at work 

as the final contract was 6x. I have to confess to an awful feeling of “deja 

vous “when I led my top club against 6x and saw East’s singleton. I exited the 

K and watched as East ruffed three clubs and drawing trump in the process 

with no great discomfort! I was awaiting the Q to appear on my right and had 

started to work out the score for 6x making.. at least no overtrick! However, 

on this day, that did not happen.  

West can come down to a five-card ending with: 

West   East 

 -    - 

 QT7   A32 

 AK    T9 

 -    - 

Either the Michaels bid or the 2 opening should guide the declarer to the 

correct play in the heart suit of leading a low heart from East…and inserting 

one of West’s honours. North will not enjoy the return…just one down doubled 

being a very good save as long as the opposition were successful guessers in 

5.  



I like Michaels bids but they seem to work better when the suits are of equal 

length. East-West had the diamonds once again on Board 9 though, this time, 

there was no disruption at our table. My “wimpiness”? You be the judge.  

Board 9 

North Deals 

E-W Vul 

♠ Q 10 9 8 5 4 

♥ K Q 7 6 5 

♦ — 

♣ 5 4 
 

♠ K 7 

♥ 4 3 

♦ A K J 8 6 4 

♣ A 9 3 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ 3 2 

♥ A 10 2 

♦ Q 10 7 3 

♣ K J 6 2 
  

 

♠ A J 6 

♥ J 9 8 

♦ 9 5 2 

♣ Q 10 8 7 
 

West North East South 

  Pass Pass Pass 

1 ♦ 2 ♦ Dbl Pass 

3 NT All pass     

With no opening to show the North shape, I passed but was there with 

Michaels a round later. South’s pass of 2x was intended to show equal 

length. West relied on their partner to take care of hearts and I had to decide 

whether “equal length” was two voids, two four card suits or, rather more 

likely which number in-between!  

I guessed wrong and passed with declarer soon claiming 9 top tricks after my 

high heart lead. All other tables made it as far as 4. Three East-Wests played 

a version of Russian Roulette by defending this contract, once doubled. 

Fortunately for them, South had the A and they survived! 

Bidding on to 5 seemed better as a sacrifice if the A had been in the long 

spade hand. When it was not, the aim was to make this contract but there was 

no joy in the club department and it failed.  

However, West could have tried 4NT, cold on a spade lead, though not so easy 

on a high heart. However, as long as West ducks two rounds of hearts, winning 

the third round, South gets into a mess on the run of the diamonds. Discarding 

two spades and a club will see a spade led off table leaving South forced to 

lead a club while the discard of two clubs and a spade leaves West no choice 

but to put up the K if South ducks. Of course, declarer could test clubs 

unsuccessfully but most routes should lead to 10 tricks. 

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2018/August&p=10&h=9&r=9


Yet, no disruption meant this time a very poor score for North-South as they 

could hardly get a worse score than conceding to the making 3NT. No 

disruption: much pain! 

Richard Solomon 


