
PUSHING THE RULE TO THE LIMIT. 
 

 
You may have heard of it, “Hamman’s Rule” where if 3NT is a possibility from 
among your options, then you should give it a go. The boards at Akarana this 
week did little to doubt the wisdom of this rule.  

It started with Board 7 and your holding as East of: 

♠ A ♥ K65  ♦Q86 ♣ AQJ872 
 

You saw: 
West  North  East  South 
1♣  1♦  2♦  Pass 
3♣  Pass  ? 
 

2♦ agreed clubs with partner owning up to no more than a minimum with 
longish clubs. It was strange no-one had mentioned spades. Surely that meant 
your partner had some reasonable holding there? There were two routes to 
success by either bidding 3♦ which would seem to ask for a half-hold (partner 
might have bid no-trumps with a full one) or simply taking the 3NT plunge 
yourself. Any route which ended in 5♣ was to end in disaster: 

Board 7 
South Deals 
Both Vul 

♠ K 10 7 
♥ 9 8 7 2 
♦ A K 10 9 3 
♣ 6 

 

♠ J 2 
♥ A Q 3 
♦ J 7 5 
♣ K 10 9 4 3 

 

 

 

N 
W  E 

S 
 

 
♠ A 
♥ K 6 5 
♦ Q 8 6 
♣ A Q J 8 7 2 

  

 
♠ Q 9 8 6 5 4 3 
♥ J 10 4 
♦ 4 2 
♣ 5 

 

As you can see, never predict anything in bridge, here West’s supposed spade 
hold. North led a high diamond against 5♣ and disbelieved declarer’s jack on 
the first round. 3NT was rather more successful. Watch West’s diamond 
holding. It will soon reappear, well more or less: 

  

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2018/June/Final&p=2&h=7&r=1


As West, you hold: 
♠ K2  ♥ K943  ♦J92  ♣ K764 
 

and with no interference, you hear: 
West   East 
   1♣ 
1♥   2♣ 

You raise to 3♣ “out of courtesy”, always a good excuse when the limit is 8 
tricks! However, partner comes alive with 3♥. Now what? There’s 3 possible 
games, 3NT, 4♥ or 5♣. Which one? Bob H would have had a quick 3NT on the 
table. I played for time with 3♠, looking for a diamond hold which ended us in 
the 4♥ moysian. As usual, Jxx was a hold (just!) and Bob H was spot on: 

Board 13 
North Deals 
Both Vul 

♠ 10 9 6 5 
♥ 10 8 6 2 
♦ A Q 8 6 
♣ 3 

 

♠ K 2 
♥ K 9 4 3 
♦ J 9 2 
♣ K 7 6 4 

 

 

 

N 
W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ 8 7 3 
♥ A J 5 
♦ K 

♣ A Q J 10 5 
2 

  

 
♠ A Q J 4 
♥ Q 7 
♦ 10 7 5 4 3 
♣ 9 8 

 

 

♦A followed by a spade switch 
would give West a horrible diamond 
guess in 3NT though no defenders 
were up to that with all 6 pairs in 
3NT making their contract 
comfortably. I hope I would not be 
labelled a “result merchant” but a 
second round “value” 3♣ bid from 
East would have ended the auction 
quickly and successfully in 3NT.  

As it was, after two rounds of spades and the doubleton ♥Q taking the first 
round of that suit in 4♥, that contract was doomed, down 3! What, though, 
would Bobby Hamman think of the following? Let’s look at the bidding through 
the eyes of the player in the North seat who holds, with neither side 
vulnerable: 

♠ 94 ♥ KJT7542 ♦9  ♣ 963 

Your right hand opponent starts proceedings with 1NT (11-14). Someone once 
said bridge is a bidders’ game and so, rightly or wrongly, you decide to enter 
the fray. A 3♥ pre-empt might appeal. Showing a single-suited hand at the 2 
level appeals a little less but bidding 2♣ which partner alerted and announced 
as “showing both majors” was rather the least appealing of all options! 

That, of course, was what happened. Then, there was the relief of your left- 
hand opponent bidding 2♠. It was only short-lived relief as out came the stop-
card from partner and 3NT hit the table.  
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What to do? Ethically correct as North had unauthorised information, they 
passed (4♥ would surely be “less down” but North could not justify that bid as 
in his mind he had already shown hearts.). There was to be no tame ending as 
the 2♠ bidder doubled the final contract.  

If it was ethically correct to pass 3NT undoubled, then the same could be said 
re the doubled contract. Barring an unlikely heart holding of Ax, it seemed 
almost impossible that this would be a making contract. Partner had nothing as 
good as that in the heart department but rather made up for it in the other red 
suit! 

 
Board 24 
West Deals 
None Vul 

♠ 9 4 
♥ K J 10 7 5 4 2 
♦ 9 
♣ 9 6 3 

 

♠ A 5 
♥ A Q 9 3 
♦ 7 6 4 
♣ Q 8 4 2 

 

 

 

N 
W  E 

S 
 

 
♠ K J 10 8 7 3 
♥ 8 6 
♦ J 5 
♣ K 10 7 

  

 
♠ Q 6 2 
♥ — 
♦ A K Q 10 8 3 2 
♣ A J 5 

 

 

West North East South 
1 NT 2 ♣ 2 ♠ 3 NT 
Pass Pass Dbl All pass 

 

West led ♠A and continued the suit, which gave South an immediate 9th trick. 
To beat this unlikely contract, West must lead their small spade to East’s king 
with East switching to the ♣10, thus rendering the ♣9 in dummy 
powerless..try it! You may not be surprised to know that none of the five pairs 
defending 3NT, twice doubled, found such scintillating defence! 

Was it for a hand like the above that Hamman developed his rule? He has at 
least 5 disciples who all scored well on the board. There will obviously be 
boards where this rule does not apply but it is a good yardstick. 

Finally, great ethics from Chris Stuckey in passing the doubled contract. Time 
for a quick system review with partner but he was well rewarded on the night 
for his ethics. I wish my partners “looked after” me so well.  

Richard Solomon 
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