
Tales of Akarana      “Badley” Done - 

 

 

The title hardly literally reflects the theme of what follows because in 

this case, the defence can reflect on a job well done. The hero for the 

defence was, of course, Duncan Badley. 

So, let’s put you in Duncan’s North seat and see if you find the 

correct defence, too.  

 
Board 24 

West Deals 

None Vul 

♠ A 9 3 

♥ K 9 8 5 

♦ — 

♣ K Q 10 6 3 2 
 

♠ 10 5 

♥ J 10 6 

♦ A K Q 9 8 7 

♣ A J 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

 

West North East South 

dummy you   

1 NT 3 ♣ Dbl Pass 

3 ♦ Pass 3 ♥ Pass 

4 ♥ All pass     
 

West valued their hand as a strong no-trump (15-17) after which you 

bid naturally. East tried a take-out double and continued to show five 

hearts after getting the 3 response.  

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2018/July&p=1&h=24&r=6


Your partner leads 4 (3rds and 5ths) which is won in dummy. 

Declarer plays a low heart to their ace and a second to the jack and 

your king. Your partner discards 5, giving count in that suit. So, 

over to you?  

While you are thinking, it seems just about every time West will end 

as declarer, that the contract will have been wrong-sided. 3NT might 

well be the correct contract but played with the hand with holds in 

the major suits. West was fortunate, this time, that East ended as 

declarer in a major suit. The West hand seems to me a perfect 1 

opener to be followed by 3 next time round, if appropriate.  

So, back to Duncan, North who cashed the Q (everyone followed 

with South playing 8 from an original holding of 854). What 

seemed certain was that his partner was not going to contribute 

much to the defence. If South held the Q, then putting declarer to 

a guess would not be successful. Since he had bid, he would be 

marked with the A. For all Duncan knew, the diamond suit was 

running. He could not see the J.  

Thus, he was on his own and found the best solution…a third round 

of clubs. If declarer ruffed in dummy, he would be forced to lead a 

high diamond, which Duncan could ruff, with the A being the 

fourth trick for the defence. So, declarer, ruffed in hand and played 

on spades.  

Duncan won the ace and cast the killer blow, yet another club. 

Ruffing in dummy would have the same effect as mentioned above. 

If declarer ruffed in hand, then they would have one trump left in 

both hands while Duncan still had two. No escape.. down one.  

                      The four hands 

 West North East South 



Board 24 

West Deals 

None Vul 

♠ A 9 3 

♥ K 9 8 5 

♦ — 

♣ K Q 10 6 3 2 
 

♠ 10 5 

♥ J 10 6 

♦ 
A K Q 9 8 

7 

♣ A J 
 

 

 

N 

W  E 

S 
 

 

♠ K Q J 8 

♥ 
A Q 7 4 

3 

♦ 6 5 

♣ 9 7 
  

 

♠ 7 6 4 2 

♥ 2 

♦ J 10 4 3 2 

♣ 8 5 4 
 

 

dummy you   

1 NT 3 ♣ Dbl Pass 

3 ♦ Pass 3 ♥ Pass 

4 ♥ All pass     

 
 

 

Declarer should have taken the heart finesse, repeated it and cashed 

a third heart, leaving North with just one high trump. North can ruff 

the first or second round of diamonds but declarer still has trump 

control. If North does not ruff, they lose their club trick. 4 was 

beaten twice and was made three times.  

Giving declarer a ruff and discard is usually not great defence. 

However, Duncan did well to recognise this deal was an exception to 

the rule. “Badley”, well done.  

Richard Solomon 

It is neat to see the two pairs of current/ ex in one case Macleans 

College students leading this Swiss Pairs event at Akarana. Zachary 

Yan and Vincent He lead from Yiwei Qi and Eddy Tan. The event has 

one more week to run. 

http://www.akaranabridge.co.nz/hands.php?e=2018/July&p=1&h=24&r=6

